Wearing ones heart on your sleeve.

I saw this piece of art work online (I googledheart on sleeve, and found this image though you’ll find it herehttp://narakafurin.deviantart.com/art/Painted-Heart-on-sleeve-154036631 ) and it got me thinking.

Sometimes this is exactly how I feel. I don’t know what the artist wanted to deliver in their art work…. but with my first reaction all I can say is “I can relate with you sister”.

I feel your pain, your torment, your scars, and the markings that across your body.

Loving is something, strange, yet pure.

One day many years ago, my late aunt told me. “You and I are more alike than you realize. We both have a lot of love to give, sometimes we don’t get that love back. Though at times it bothers us, though at times we are pained, though we can think of many reasons to give up on others, we don’t, do you want to know why? We have both a blessing and a curse, for we wear our hearts on our sleeve.” I was baffled.

Didn’t realize she understood without uttering a single word how I felt (and at times continue to feel).

We love…. wholeheartedly.  Even if we arent loved back.

We will give you the shirt off our backs if need be…. even if you would never reciprocate that offer.

Not eat, so you can eat.

Give you my last couple of dollars, if your in need.

Help you in the midst of your crisis…. though in our storms we’ve carried that burden solo.

This is an ode to my aunt.

Someone who understood me…. despite how often we fought (both of us were stubborn…. passionate in what we believe in… despite the similarities and differences)…. one thing is for certain….. she knew how to love the way I do.

She knew….as I know…. that our hearts were always used and strung along.

Many have taken advantage.

Many have scarred us.

Many have broken us.

Many have hurt us.

Many have abandoned us.

One thing is for certain…. none of that stopped us from continuing to love and help… despite the scars, the wounds, and coverups…

It’s both a blessing and a curse wearing your heart on your sleeve,

Leave a Reply

