To my husband…. and our Diverse Family


I loved you since the day I met you.

Though I didn’t want to admit it.

Love at first sight.

I never really believed in it until I met you.

Prior to you I’ve loved, I’ve lusted, I’ve been infatuated with many.

None of them from first sight.

Through you I’ve gained a family whom I love as much as I love you.

You had your inner circle.

You came with baggage.

To love you meant loving and accepting them.

Your brothers…. bonds of friendship built from a young age…. friendships which converted to family.

Marrying you I felt like I married them as well.

I love your circle as much as I love you. (Well I love you more…. but I have a special place in my heart for your circle).

That circle is your family.

They are my family.

No matter the storm, no matter the trials and tribulation, no matter what I will love them unconditionally as I have vowed to love you.

Though we still grieve the loss of one of those in our circle(yes. Your circle is our circle).

I stand by you as many a times you’ve stood by me. I will sacrifice for you as many times you have done for me.

You are my rock. I am your fortress.

You and your circle have refuge with me.

It’s been a rough two years for the circle was hit hard with heartache and grief. We ride these storms together.

One family.

Of many nations.

We are as diverse culturally speaking as the UN.

But we are one family.

I love you hubbie and your circle.

Leave a Reply

