Faithful and Ungrateful 

I was thinking about how the times are now and how much things have changed. Then I happened to see this image floating around social media.

Here is a modern day depiction of Jesus feeding the 5000 in 2017.
When Jesus fed the 5000, there were only two baskets with bread and fish. Two baskets to feed 5000 whom followed Jesus. Jesus prayed, he blessed the baskets and suddenly there was enough to feed 5000. Everyone at the time was beyond grateful. They were fed, were happy for this miracle for all were fed.

In the 2000+ years since this miracle you can see in this cartoon how much distrust we have in humanity, in one another, and even in ones faith.

How the enemy has infiltrated many of our thoughts. How we nitpick at everything.
Read the captions in the image and you see the following:

“I can’t eat that I’m vegan.”

“Has that fish been tested for mercury?”

“Is that bread gluten-free?”
This caption shows that in the midst of our struggles, while pleading for a miracle, we are being selective to the blessing we are to receive. It’s our way or the high way? Eat the fish or starve? Was there an expectation for a specific miracle?

Yes! That’s it! There’s usually an expectation.

Many of us accepts the miracles and answers we get from God when we are facing obstacles, struggles, trials and tribulations. Many of us see the struggle we are in and ask for a specific form of “miracle” or reprieve from the obstacle we are in. In doing so what we fail to realize is that, sometimes the answer we are looking for is not always the answer we want.

Sometimes to get through that obstacle we have to hear or do something we didn’t think or want to do.
If God were to be selective of our salvation the way we are selective in how we receive his blessings and answers, many of us wouldn’t be saved.
Picture God throwing tantrums like we do and saying:

“You didn’t kneel to pray, there goes your salvation”

“You didn’t pray enough, there goes your salvation”

“You didn’t fast enough, there goes your salvation”

God isn’t doing that.
Yes he wants us to pray.

Yes he wants us to kneel before his presence.

Yes he wants us to fast and make sacrifices for him.

He wants us to praise him

He wants us to Love him
Abide by his laws

Be kind to one another

Love one another

Help one another

But all in his glory.

Second guessing a miracle or a good act in faith, second guessing or being specific with an answer to help you face an obstacle is a problem.
How do we fix this problem?
We have to kneel down and pray. We need to realize that your way is not his way, and you need to accept that.
He is the alpha and the omega, the beginning and the end, the creator of all things, the king of kings, one divine true Living God.
He knows your future.

He knows when your time on earth ends.

He had counted every hair on your body.

He is the answer to your obstacle.

He can give you the answer, take you out of that situation.

You need to trust in him.

Abide in him.
We are living scary times.

Times of xenophobia.

Times of homophobia.

Times of racism.

Times of discrimination.

Times of hatred.

Times of fear.

Times where to proclaim god is perceived as sin.
These times we are in can affect how we deal with our trials and tribulations. In order to overcome these trials in the midsts of the times we have things we need to do.
We need to listen to God.

We need to obey.

We need to hear.

We need to pray.

We need to fast.

We need to praise.

We need to trust.

We need to have faith.
In the midst of our struggles, obstacles, trials and tribulations we need to sometimes cross the valley of death, we need to face those challenges we do not want to face.

The ultimate reward will be worthwhile when we follow what God wants us to do and heed his advice vs being specific on how we want things. We can’t ask for a miracle and then want to omit certain aspects of the miracles.
Father I thank you. I thank you for allowing the obstacles, the trials and tribulations. Father these paths which include these hurdles I know are meant to teach me, to have my faith grow, to bring me closer to you. Father help me to listen more to you, so when you provide an answer, or when you bring forth a miracle that I accept all that you allow to answer the petition, to solve that obstacle. I ask for guidance during my tribulations my lord, for you to allow the Holy Spirit to manifest and guide me when I travel down roads not traveled, while I face challenges I do not want to face, while I have to do things I may not want to do. I know it takes work. I know I have to do my part. I do not want to nitpick my way to salvation dear Lord, nor do I want the easy way out. I do not want to be selective of my blessings. I want to learn, I want to grow and I want to be able to accept all that you provide me.

Amen.

One thought on “Faithful and Ungrateful 

Leave a Reply

