Power and Love

I woke up this morning feeling defeated, not by temptation or the enemy but defeated at my child’s school. I don’t know what it is about one specific person whom has blindfolded and has so much control over every aspect of the school. Now I don’t want to change the culture of the school nor do I ever want to tell a teacher how to do their job. What I do what to do is help the school succeed. The problem is….. if that said person doesn’t come up wth the idea, then it’s usually irrelevant (at least until said person repeats the same recommendation you made).
Parent involvement is at an all time low, why? There are mixed reasons, schedule conflicts, lack of morale and responsibilities take place.
I also noticed something. The parental leadership committee doesn’t fully represent the parental and student body. The parental portion of this leadership compromises of 5 parent positions.

Here’s the demographic population of the school, then I’ll provide the make up of the population of the parental positions.

About 90% are of Hispanic/ Latino descent (Puerto Rico, Dominican Republic, Cuban, hondorian, Mexican, guatelamn, Colombian, Ecuadorian, El Salvador, Panamanian, Peruvian, etc), about 5% is Asian. About 2% white, 1%arab, 1% black 1% mixed (biracial).
Here’s the parental make up 3 white 1 Latin mother of a biracial child (black and Latin) 1- Latin – mother of a Latin child.

The pta presidents which is a shared post one is Asian one is Latin mother of two mixed biracial children (Latin and Asian).

Where is the black representation where is the Arab representation?
Though I woke up feeling defeated, I had to stop and reflect why am I defeated? Because I’m out numbered? Maybe it’s time to take action vs make recommendations.
Then I listened to my devotion this morning. God hears my thoughts and provides a solution. The devotion had two scriptures affiliated and both hit a home run in my soul.
Ephesians 3:14-21New American Standard Bible (NASB)

For this reason I bow my knees before the Father, from whom every family in heaven and on earth derives its name, that He would grant you, according to the riches of His glory, to be strengthened with power through His Spirit in the inner man, so that Christ may dwell in your hearts through faith; and that you, being rooted and grounded in love, may be able to comprehend with all the saints what is the breadth and length and height and depth, and to know the love of Christ which surpasses knowledge, that you may be filled up to all the fullness of God.

Now to Him who is able to do far more abundantly beyond all that we ask or think, according to the power that works within us,to Him be the glory in the church and in Christ Jesus to all generations forever and ever. Amen

2 Timothy 1:7New American Standard Bible (NASB)

For God has not given us a spirit of timidity, but of power and love and discipline.
Part of the devotion read as follows…. this is the part that got me thinking…
“Inadequacy grows out of fear—specifically, fear of failure and of not meeting people’s expectations. No matter how unqualified we feel, apprehension is not an acceptable excuse for avoiding responsibility. The truth is, even if a Christian feels incapable of accomplishing some of the awesome tasks God calls him to do, the Holy Spirit is more than adequate! As believers, we do not have to possess perfect qualifications or skills; we need only to be willing. What have you refused to do for the Lord because you feel inadequate? 2 Timothy 1:7 tells us that God has given us a spirit of power, not one of timidity. All the believer has to do is step out in faith; the Holy Spirit’s strength and courage will be there to meet us.”
I do have life for my children and the children in the neighborhood. I want them all to succeed. I do have connections, resources and the discipline to make extra connections to provide, I am not usually timid, but do respect boundaries. I should tap in to the talent and power entrusted to me by the Holy Spirit, follow his direction and do my part.
I am not inadequate.

Thank you Lord for lifting me up.
I will voice my power.

Thank you Holy Spirit for reminding me I do have a voice and I do have power.
I will provide all the resources I have available, and if they choose not to proceed I know I have done my part, and any failures will not be on my conscience.

Thank you Jesus for reminding me to not only sit at the table, but to go back to being a doer…. a go getter, despite the results.
Yes school politics turned me off.

The mere fact that an entire school has to cater to the schedule of ONE individual is ridiculous. We all have lives and responsibilities. My main responsibility is of the well being of my child.
I will demand my voice and concerns be heard, not just for my child, but for the children’s who’s voices are not being concerned.
Father thank you for reminding me of my talents. For reminding me I have a voice and a power that you have given me. Thank you for reminding me not to give up. To stand up. To face the adversity, no matter how many times we get shut down. I will follow your direction for the sake of the children.

Amen

Leave a Reply

