Don’t Put Down Anyone Even Your Enemies

Prov. 24:17 Do not gloat when your enemy falls; when he stumbles, do not let your heart rejoice, or the LORD will see and disapprove and turn his wrath away from him. 
As Christians we are to pray for one another, wish for the best for one another and love one another. This nothin though also includes your “enemies”. How can you have a loving pure heart when you are wishing harm on someone you disagree with. Why take joy in errors and failures, their griefs and sadness? 
We shouldn’t. We should pray for them even when they are down.  
Politics is something I like to follow, regardless of my party of preference, i still pray and hope for the sake of the whole of the country that bipartisan efforts are done for the greater good under the laws of man. That we get along despite the differences of opinions and affiliations. Our commander in chief, I’ve written about him. I may not agree with his approach, disclaimer: i am not declaring him an enemy. I may not agree on his approach nor some of his philosophies, ideologies and the steps to achieve them. (Note I did say some) I do agree with some things with the president. Now if he fails, shall I celebrate? No! I will not celebrate his failure, if he fails, this country fails, if this country fails, we all fail. 
People are out in our lives for a reason (even your enemies). They are placed to help you grow (regardless if it’s a personal, professional or spiritual growth).

They are there to make you stronger, they are there for you to learn something. 
What are you going to learn from an enemy? I don’t know ask God and pray on it, each circumstance is different to the next. We are here to live a path which should reflect the belief you chose. In Christianity we are to love, care and pray for all. Even your enemies.
When my son comes telling me story about a school mate, i remind him we should cover that schoolmate and everyone in prayers. He always asks me why, well we don’t know why people are the way they are. Some people seek attention that they are lacking, some are being bullied and this is all they know, some lack love and again is seeking attention to obtain the love they are lacking. We pray for all… regardless of what they do to us. I remind him God watches everything we do, knows our thoughts and intentions. We should never be happy at the failures of others. One never knows what this person is going through. Who knows, maybe we are meant to intercede for that person. We won’t know until after why God has allowed certain paths to cross.
Father God I thank you for another day. I thank you the opportunities this day present. I thank you for the individuals you put in my path. I know some people are meant to be in our lives for a short time, I know some people are meant to stay forever. Regardless of friend or foe I want you to cover them in blessings. May the struggles people are facing be overcome with your grace. For those having trouble praying for their foe, for those having trouble having compassion for someone who does wrong to them, i also ask that you guide them to the direction you want dear lord. I know there is a reason people are placed in our lives, looking for your guidance to follow your lead. Amen.

Leave a Reply

