Hidden Flame

The Hidden Flame
By Davis Bunn and Janette Oke
This is a story truly about faith, building a relationship with God and growth in ones walk. Many of the characters are from the first book, many are new. A great portion of the characters you will recognize from the Bible. Each biblical character you find in this novel has had circumstances where they discussed their faith, spiritual growth and walk.
Either way everyone’s faith has been tested one way or another. You see the individual spiritual growth as well of many of the main characters.
One of my favorite quotes brings to question how I as a reader serve, praise and have faith in the lord. It’s a question I may not be able to answer but a question I have had many times in my life.
“I am not afraid of death, Abigail. I am afraid that I might draw back and not be bold in proclaiming the gospel.” He hesitated, then said, “And I am afraid that I might not stand firm. That under the heel of the enemy, in pain, I might deny my Lord.”
In the Bible the disciple Peter insisted in the midst of the storm he would not deny Peter. Yet during jesus persecution he did just deny his affiliations with Christ. All this took place 3 times before the rooster crowed. Knowing that despite Peter insisted he would not deny Christ, he did. The character in the book explains his worry of… will I be like Peter or will I stand firm in my faith. In the midst of the storm will I be like Peter or will I be able to stand firm in my faith.
I have seen my own personal spiritual growth, prior to reading this series, but as I continued to read these acts of faith, I see. How it is inspiring me, to pursue a better relationship with Christ. These character have been tested, though this is just a novel, the scenarios that they undergo have me question wow, would I be able to…..? Would I be able to withstand? I know I love God? Believe in the messiah, but am I as faithful as half of these characters (and in turn I’m not really speaking of the characters portrayed but the actual biblical figures…. the book highlights events, but as we know the Bible speaks the truth). To see what they have endured & withstood would I have been able to be as loving, faithful and strong in my faith, in my walk?
In seeing the growth of these characters in this book it inspired me to further my growth to continue my relationship with our God on a whole other level.
This book, this series I must say is an amazing read. Using historical biblical characters, bringing them to life detailing their point of view, what the believers experienced after the death of Christ. The books not only detail events that unfolded, persecutions, judgments and things the believers faced, but has shown various levels of relationships with God. Believers and non believers respectively and has shown how each character has grown.
Such a beautiful series. I am looking forward to reading the Third.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s