Pay Attention If You Offended Someone

Pay Attention If You Offended Someone
Especially in your family.
Proverbs 18:19 An offended brother is more unyielding than a fortified city, and disputes are like the barred gates of a citadel.
Having disputes with your loved ones can as this proverb suggest can close the gates. Sometimes it is hard to forgive someone whom has offended you. For your own spiritual growth you will need to. Now here is when it gets interesting, what if I offended someone? What then?
Many times we unwillingly and unknowingly offend others, loved ones and friends alike. It is such a neglected and not frequently discussed truth. I could have offended someone and now realized or known. One thing we should do is pay attention if our actions may have offended someone.
We need to seek forgiveness for the offense even if it was unintentional.
Many of us are probably think, man this person needs to get over themselves, I did not mean no harm, it was not meant to be misconstrued this way or that way. Sometimes yes it may not have mean no harm, but it did. It may not have been meant to be misconstrued, but it did. No one man knows what another is truly thinking. We can not know what that person is undergoing. People do not always share these grievances that they hold secret, yes that is not your fault, but those pains, struggles, tribulations could have affected why a person interpreted something how they did.
The act may have not been intended to cause harm but it did. Many people have offended me and yet do not know. Little things can tend to bother someone. If the other person does not know that you have offended them, you hold on this anger, resentment and bitterness, and the other person is not even aware of the transgressions or why ones attitude has changed.
Sometimes the delivery is the problem, sometimes the receiving is the problem, sometimes is the expectations one has.
Some people give subtle cues to when they have been offended.
Some people are blunt about the offense that was made towards them.
Some people stay silent.
I usually stay silent. I pray, I forgive, I stay silent because in my honest and personal experience with some people bringing it up makes things worse. Then all of a sudden they have a list of offenses as well. So I stay silent, I pray, I forgive. I remain the same with the person. No need to treat them different if in my opinion they were not even aware that they hurt my feelings or have hurt me.
I take it in stride and I move on, I forgive them, and I hope that one day they can forgive me if I have offended anyone.
All in all we should be more on the lookout for the subtle cues. We should regard to each other with love, open arms, warm embrace and genuine care without any expectations. Its the expectations that makes things worse for us and can close the gates.
Father God I thank you today for enlightening me even as I write about this subject. Thank you for enlightening me on a possible offense I may have caused someone else. As I wrote this my mind was flooded with imagery of people near and dear to me. Whom I have forgiven for an offense I took, that they were not aware of, in the imagery you provided dear lord, I feel you want me to reach out to them and as for forgiveness. Dear Lord I will reach out to them, with your help. May you guide my words, my spirit and may we all forgive one another with our offenses. In your name we pray. Amen.
Leave a Reply

