“Fight the good fight of the faith…”

Image result for fight the good fight in faith

“Fight the good fight of the faith…”
(1 Timothy 6:12, ESV)
Webster dictionary defines fight as (https://www.merriam-webster.com/dictionary/fight)
intransitive verb
1a :  to contend in battle or physical combat; especially :  to strive to overcome a person by blows or weapons The soldiers fought bravely.b :  to engage in boxing He will fight for the heavyweight title next month.
2 :  to put forth a determined effort They were fighting to stay awake.
The word fight (agon) in the Greek means to compete for a prize, to contend with an adversary, to endeavor to accomplish something, to labor fervently, or to strive.
The word good,( kalos ) in the Greek, means beautiful and valuable, virtuous, better, and worthy.
So when Paul says, “Fight the good fight of faith..” he is telling you to strive for the virtuous, valuable fight for your faith. Your faith is valuable. Your faith is the foundation to your relationship with your creator.
The good fight of faith is about your relationship with our God. It is about your relationship with him, laying hold of eternal life and professing your love before witnesses. It is not about the new car, the new house, the vacation you just went, the latest gadget you just purchased, the Jimmy Choo’s nor the Louis Vuitton.
It is about being victorious in your walk, your path, your relationship. To be Christ like, to overcome challenges, obstacles, burdens, trials and tribulations and know that your faith in your creator has allowed you to overcome and reap this reward of accomplishment, of gratitude of everlasting love and peace that comes after the storms.
But thanks be to God, which giveth us the victory through our Lord Jesus Christ
(1 Corinthians 15:57). God gives us Victory with every breath we take, every step you take, every place you go, everything you do is reason to be victorious in Christ. Waking up you should be giving thanks and feel victorious. Any day that has not brought trouble is a victorious day.
Your parents are alive and healthy, praise be to God.
Your children are doing good in school, are healthy? That my friend is victory.
Fight the good fight of the faith.
Battle your temptations.
Fight your earthly whims and desires.
Fight off Sin.
Battle your trials and tribulations.
Fight off depression.
Fight off recession.
Fight off anything that is intended to knock your faith down….Fight the good fight in faith, not with fists, but with faith.
Maintain your faith. You shall be victorious.
Father God today I Thank you for another day. I thank you for the roof over my head. I thank you for my spouse. I thank you for our parents, siblings and children. I thank you for our relatives and friends. I give praise to you for this victory of everyone being well. I praise you for this victory we have today. I ask dear lord for guidance, sustenance, may you provide the strength I need to fight the good fight, like Paul states, when I am week you make me strong. Your strength is all I will ever need thanks to Christ ( Philippians 4:13 states I can do all things in Christ whom strengthens me). I ask you Lord to show me to be more compassionate, more loving, more Christ Like. Thank you for today’s victory. Thank you for yesterday’s victory, Thank you for tomorrows Victory.  May we continue to fight the good fight, so that my faith in you shall not be compromised.  In the name of the Father, the Son and the Holy Spirit.
Leave a Reply

