Temper

Lose The Temper
We tend to know folks whom have a short fuse.
We see it.
We walk on egg shells when we approach people with a short fuse.
Ones temper can be a hindrance to one’s blessing.
We need to find a way to recenter one’s self when we see that fuse about to go.
Extend your fuse, you can not have a short fuse and be at peace with one self.
It is like the proverb states:
Proverbs 14:17 A quick-tempered man does foolish things, and a crafty man is hated.
When we loose our temper, we act irate, we do things we do not necessary meant to do.
We need to control one’s temper.
Many loose their tempers without warrant. Any little thing and they spazz out.
Hence the notion of walking on Egg Shells is taken to account for these individuals.
In the NT there was one time where some claim where Jesus “lost it” sort to speak..
Jesus never had a short temper he never had reason for anyone to walk on eggshells the way people may do to you or I on a given subject close to the heart. He did have a moment where many have various interpretations of his reactions. My opinion, I think he did what was just, what I would have done (though I would’ve reacted more harsh, probably been stoned on the spot).
Some feel he acted violently.
Some feel he lost his temper.
Some feel he had no right.
I feel he acted as any other person would have if someone desecrated their home.
He is the direct son of God, the Temple is the House of God, as son of God, that is his home is it not?
His actions was due to one disrespecting / desecrating the house of the Lord.
I will leave you to decide on how you feel he reacted.
I will show you the scriptures, and you can see it for yourself.
Matthew 21:12-13 (New American Standard Bible)
12 And Jesus entered the temple and drove out all those who were
buying and selling in the temple, and overturned the tables of the money
changers and the seats of those who were selling doves.
13 And He said to them, “It is written, ‘MY HOUSE SHALL BE CALLED A HOUSE OF PRAYER’; but you are making it a ROBBERS’ DEN.”
Mark 11:15-18
15 Then they came to Jerusalem. And He entered the temple and began
to drive out those who were buying and selling in the temple, and
overturned the tables of the money changers and the seats of those who
were selling doves;
16 and He would not permit anyone to carry merchandise through the temple.
17 And He began to teach and say to them, “Is it not written, ‘ MY
HOUSE SHALL BE CALLED A HOUSE OF PRAYER FOR ALL THE NATIONS’? But you
have made it a ROBBERS’ DEN.”
18 The chief priests and the scribes heard this, and began seeking how
to destroy Him; for they were afraid of Him, for the whole crowd was
astonished at His teaching.
Luke 19:45-47
45 Jesus entered the temple and began to drive out those who were selling,
46 saying to them, “It is written, ‘AND MY HOUSE SHALL BE A HOUSE OF PRAYER,’ but you have made it a ROBBERS’ DEN.”
47 And He was teaching daily in the temple; but the chief priests and
the scribes and the leading men among the people were trying to destroy
Him,
John 2:13-16
13 The Passover of the Jews was near, and Jesus went up to Jerusalem.
14 And He found in the temple those who were selling oxen and sheep and doves, and the money changers seated at their tables.
15 And He made a scourge of cords, and drove them all out of the
temple, with the sheep and the oxen; and He poured out the coins of the
money changers and overturned their tables;
16 and to those who were selling the doves He said, “Take these things away; stop making My Father’s house a place of business.”
We should respect, valor, honor, have reverence in the house of the Lord. I would have reacted the same way if someone desecrated my fathers house, if someone was disrespectful, if gambling was done, if illegal businesses were being orchestrated. I get upset when I see someone doing something wrong in the house of the lord. It bothers me, hurts me.
Jesus did not hit, attack nor curse anyone. He overturned the tables of the offenses. He demanded them to leave. He drove them out.
He demanded respect for his father’s house. The land was sacred. Our temples are sacred.
He could’ve have done more, he could’ve done damage, he could have condemned them and killed them on the spot. He didn’t though. He turned the tables, He demanded that they leave. He did not hit them, he did not hurt them.
All in all Jesus led a life of being even – tempered during his ministry.
He held restraint.
During his accusations.
During temptation.
During his whipping.
During his persecution.
Proverbs 17:27 A man of knowledge uses words with restraint, and a man of understanding is even-tempered.
Many times at church I get embarrassed when my two year old acts up. (I know, kids will be kids).
To me lack of reverence would be to sit there while the child screams, cries, makes a scene which in turns distracts others from the message. So I get up, grab my child, sit in the over flow room, where I can still hear the message and not be a distraction to others.
Reverence.
I also know they such acts can offend others.
‘Look at this lady, she can’t control this kid and is interrupting the service’.
Before it even gets to that I get up and I go.
Father God I ask you to guide me to lead me to a path of being even-tempered.
I ask you to extend my fuse so that I do not explode or cause harm on others.
I know that it is easier said than done.
I ask for your guidance to led me when things go astray.
For your to provide the words of wisdom, act in accordance to your will so that I do not act foolishly within the circumstance.
I ask for patience.
Amen.
Leave a Reply

