Breathe

Breathe
A term we often hear.
Women in labor ” mama take a deep breath and breathe”.
A person upset “take a deep breath” or “calm down and breathe”
A simple act of inhaling and exhaling to diffuse a situation.
Yet to Breathe also allows oxygen to pass to our lungs, which allows us to live.
Each breath we take is vital.
A patient of mine a few years back gave me a cardboard with the word “breathe” on it.
She would come in for treatments and told me the past few times she saw me I looked stressed.
During that time there was a lot going on, pre baby #2, pre my husbands rebirth in Christ, I had lots of doubts. I felt I was failing as a mother, as a daughter, as a wife, as an employee and as a person. I was emotionally and physically not well.
She came to me and said, when you are having a hard day, stop working, stop what you are doing, take a few seconds and focus on that word.
Breathe.
As you look at the word, Breathe.
Then when you feel the peace within you, get back to work, focus on your work.
These few minutes of solitude and distraction was amazing.
Why am I bringing this up?
I have no clue if my patient is still even alive, yet today going through my files I found the paper.
I decided it is time to put it where I can see it for I know I will need to rely heavily on this as a reminder to stop what I am doing, take a deep breath & ask God for Guidance.
Back then I wasn’t asking God for guidance.
I only breathed.
So now I will Breathe.
Breathe.
As you look at the word, Breathe.
I will inhale, take that deep breath.
I will ask God for his sustenance and guidance.
I will exhale.
I will rejoice in the peace that will come….from God’s help.
I decided to do a few things.
I looked up in the bible concordance what this word meant.
In greek, emphysáō (from 1722 /en, “in” and physaō, “breathe, blow”) – properly, breathe (blow) in. 1720 (emphysáō) is only used in Jn 20:22 where Christ breathed into the apostles. By “breathing in Christ’s in breathing,” 1720 (emphysáō) prefigures “the promise of the Father,” fulfilled on the Day of Pentecost (Lk 24:49; Ac 1:4; Ac 2:1f).
NAS Exhaustive Concordance
Word Origin
from en (in) and phusaó (to blow)
Definition: to breathe into or upon
NASB Translation
breathed (1).
In Hebrew, naphach: to breathe, blow
Original Word: נָפַח
Part of Speech: Verb
Transliteration: naphach
Phonetic Spelling: (naw-fakh’)
Short Definition: blow
NAS Exhaustive Concordance
Word Origin
a prim. root
Definition
to breathe, blow
NASB Translation
blow
(3), blows (1), boiling (2), breathe (1), breathed (1), breathing is
labored* (1), disdainfully sniff (1), lose (1), unfanned (1).
Then I investigated a bit further.
“BREATH; BREATHE; BREATHING
breth, breth, breath’-ing:
In the English Versions of the Bible of the Old Testament
“breath” is the rendering of neshamah, and of ruach. These words differ
but slightly in meaning, both signifying primarily “wind,” then
“breath,” though the former suggests a gentler blowing, the latter often
a blast. As applied to persons there is no very clear distinction
between the words.
Yet in general one may say that of the two neshamah
is employed preferably of breath regarded physiologically: “vital
breath,” hence, the vital principle, “Soul (animal) life” (compare Genesis 2:7 ; 7:22; Job 27:3,where both words occur; \Da 5:23\ – reference below); while ruach (though it, too, sometimes signifies “vitalbreath”) is the word generally employed where the breath is regardedphysically–breath or blast as an act or force–and so is related to the will or the emotions, whence the meaning “spirit,” also sometimes”thought,” “purpose” (compareJob 4:9; 9:18; Psalms 18:15; 146:4; Ezekiel 37:5,6,8,9,10).
The examples cited, however, and other passages reveal a lack of
uniformity of usage. Yet generally ruach is the expression, neshamah,
the principle, of life. Yet when employed of God they of course signify
the principle, not of His own life, but of that imparted to His
creatures. “Breathe” in English Versions of the Bible of the Old
Testament requires no remark except at Psalms 27:12 (“such as breathe out cruelty”), from yaphach, “to breathe hard,” “to snort” (compare Acts 9:1). In the New Testament “breath” (pnoe) occurs once Acts 17:25 in the plain sense of vital principle, the gift of God. “Breathed” is employed in John 20:22 of our Lord’s concrete symbolism of the giving of the Spirit. In Acts 9:1Saul’s “breathing threatening and slaughter” is literally “snorting,”etc., and the nouns are partitive genitives, being the element of which
he breathed.”
Here are the bible verses noted from the article above:
Gen 2:7 – Then the LORD God formed a man from the dust of the ground and breathed into his nostrils the breath of life, and the man became a living being.
Gen 7: 22 – Everything on dry land that had the breath of life in its nostrils died.
Job 27: 3 – as long as I have life within me, the breath of God in my nostrils,
Job 4: 9 – At the breath of God they perish; at the blast of his anger they are no more.
Job 9: 18 – He would not let me catch my breath but would overwhelm me with misery.
Psalms 18:15 – The valleys of the sea were exposed and the
foundations of the earth laid bare at your rebuke, LORD, at the blast of
breath from your nostrils.
Psalms 146:4 – When their spirit departs, they return to the ground; on that very day their plans come to nothing.
Ezekiel 37: 5-6 – This is what the Sovereign LORD says to these bones: I will make breath enter you, and you will come to life. I will attach
tendons to you and make flesh come upon you and cover you with skin; I will put breath in you, and you will come to life. Then you will know
that I am the LORD.’ ”
Ezekiel 37: 8-10 – I looked, and tendons and flesh appeared on them and skin covered them, but there was no breath in them. Then he said
to me, “Prophesy to the breath; prophesy, son of man, and say to it, ‘This is what the Sovereign LORD says: Come, breath, from the four winds
and breathe into these slain, that they may live.’ So I prophesied as he commanded me, and breath entered them; they came to life and stood up on their feet—a vast army.
Psalms 27: 12 – Do not turn me over to the desire of my foes, for false witnesses rise up against me, spouting malicious accusations.
Acts 9:1 – Meanwhile, Saul was still breathing out murderous threats against the Lord’s disciples. He went to the high priest
Acts 17:25 – And he is not served by human hands, as if he
needed anything. Rather, he himself gives everyone life and breath and
everything else.
John 20: 22 – And with that he breathed on them and said, “Receive the Holy Spirit.
I did some more investigating on the word(s) (breath, breathe, breathed) looked it up on the online concordance.
Lamentations 4:20 The LORD’s anointed, our very life breath, was caught in their traps. We thought that under his shadow we would live among the nations.
Isaiah 2:22 Stop trusting in mere humans, who have but a breath in their nostrils. Why hold them in esteem?
Job 33:4 The Spirit of God has made me; the breath of the Almighty gives me life.
Job 34:14 – If it were his intention and he withdrew his spirit and breath,
Job 41: 21 – Its breath sets coals ablaze, and flames dart from its mouth.
Job 37: 10 – Its breath sets coals ablaze, and flames dart from its mouth.
Job 19:17 – Its breath sets coals ablaze, and flames dart from its mouth..
Job 15:30 – He will not escape the darkness; a flame will wither his shoots, and the breath of God’s mouth will carry him away.
Isaiah 33:11 – You conceive chaff, you give birth to straw; your breath is a fire that consumes you.
Isaiah 30:28 You conceive chaff, you give birth to straw; your breath is a fire that consumes you.
2 Corinthian 1:17 – You conceive chaff, you give birth to straw; your breath is a fire that consumes you.
James 2:26 Just as the body is dead without breath, so also faith is dead without good works.
Acts 2:2 and there came suddenly out of the heaven a sound as of a bearing violent
breath, and it filled all the house where they were sitting …
Mark 7:34 – He looked up to heaven and with a deep sigh said to him, “Ephphatha!” (which means “Be opened!”)
2 Thessalonians 2:8 And then the lawless one will be revealed, whom the Lord Jesus will overthrow with the breath of his mouth and destroy by the splendor of
his coming.
Revelations 11:11 But after the three and a half days the breath of life from God entered them, and they stood on their feet, and terror struck those who saw them.
Revelations 13: 15 The second beast was given power to give breath to the image of the first beast, so that the image could speak and cause all who refused to
worship the image to be killed.
Matthew 11: 7 As John’s disciples were leaving, Jesus began talking about him to the
crowds. “What kind of man did you go into the wilderness to see? Was he a
weak reed, swayed by every breath of wind?
Psalms 62: 9 Surely the lowborn are but a breath, the highborn are but a lie. If
weighed on a balance, they are nothing; together they are only a breath.
Psalms 135: 17 – They have ears, but cannot hear, nor is there breath in their mouths.
Psalms 144.4 They are like a breath; their days are like a fleeting shadow.
Pslams 150 . 6 They are like a breath; their days are like a fleeting shadow.
Pslams 104.. 29 When you hide your face, they are terrified; when you take away their breath, they die and return to the dust.
Numbers 27: 16 – “May the LORD, the God who gives breath to all living things, appoint someone over this community
Psalms 33.6 By the word of the LORD the heavens were made, their starry host by the breath of his mouth.
Job 26.13 By his breath the skies became fair; his hand pierced the gliding serpent.
These are some of many instances where breathe, breath, breathed were mentioned in the Bible.
I did not realize it then, but I realize it now, this person was ministering me, not to De-stress, not to calm my self, but to remind me where to recenter my focus. To take a deep breath, Breathe, and seek GOD.
Lord I wish I knew where this person is today so i can thank them, if by chance they are with you I thank you for the message that was finally delivered to me.
4 years later, but the message was finally received.
Thank you father for the breath you provided me upon the commencement of my life. For filling me with your Holy Spirit. For Guiding me. Thank you father for allowing this message to resonate. Thank you even though it probably took longer than you had anticipated, but the message was delivered. I will Breathe, I will recenter my focus in you, I will seek your guidance and allow you to work your marvels in my life. I will give you praise, and I will Breathe.  I am praying for you, the person reading this, with whatever need you are in, whatever distress you are in, I pray that you can let this message sink in and resonate in your soul.  Breathe.  Seek God for guidance and Breathe.
Amen.
Leave a Reply

