Silence!


Silence!

“When he was accused by the chief priests and
the elders, he gave no answer. Then Pilate asked him, ‘Don’t you hear
the testimony they are bringing against you?’ But Jesus made no reply,
not even to a single charge—to the great amazement of the governor.”
(Matthew 27:12-14, NIV)

Ever been falsely accused of something?
Intentions misinterpreted?
A rumor start about you?

I remember a time there was rumor going around that I had gotten pregnant and conceived a baby girl.
I was really young, still in school.
Rumors were circulating that I aborted, put a kid for adoption, but that nonetheless I was with child at some point or another.
Behind closed doors I cried sooooo much, it hurt so bad.
I dismissed the rumors for what it was….rumors and lies.
Only once when confronted with my God daughter did I acknowledge that the child I was with was not my own, but merely my God Child.
Yes I love her with ever fiber of my being, but she is not mine.
Every other time I stood quiet. I never corrected the rumors.

I was in soo much pain that after awhile I was numb to it all.
These rumors started circulating around the same time when I was diagnosed that I could not have any kids.

I thought the universe was playing a really sick joke on me.
I was mad.
I stood quiet about my truth and my struggle.
I kept it moving.
I kept dealing with my pain.

What Jesus did here was admirable.

He stood quiet.
He did not say anything.
He did not defend himself from the fabricated accusations.
He did not cause a tantrum.
He did not cry.
He did not get mad.
He stood silent.

Every single charge against him, he stood quiet.
No matter what we do, no matter where we go in life, no matter what someone will always have something to say.
We should follow the example of Jesus.
He was falsely accused.
False testimony brought before the court to condemn him.
He said NADA.
He did not defend himself.
He did not rebuttal.
Not one word.

Your destiny, your future, whom you are is not defined by what other’s opinion of you.
Your destiny, future, your worth and value comes from God.
No one can trump what God says about you.
You are the child of the Most High, the Child of the great Architect of the world.
You are a blessing from the creator himself.
You were saved by Jesus.

Do not fret about what other’s may think or say about you.
Know God loves you, he has decided your path.
He can refocus your life on what matters.
Stay silent.
Let accusers accuse you, but stay silent.

Father God I thank you for being loving and forgiving. I thank you for my lesson in life. I thank you for guiding me during situations where my carnal instinct might be retribution, yet instead you pull me away.
Thank you for always letting me know when I should let things be and let them simmer down on their own by me staying quiet.
Thank you for letting me know when to voice my concerns.
I follow your discretion, because your opinion matters, not theirs.
I choose to turn away from conflicts and situations out of my control. I turn to you knowing that you will always, lead, guide and provide my path towards victory in your name. I know Together we shall rise.
Amen.

Leave a Reply

