Do you Love me?


John 21:15-17 ESV –
15 When they had finished breakfast, Jesus said to
Simon Peter, “Simon, son of John, do you love me more than these?” He
said to him, “Yes, Lord; you know that I love you.” He said to him,
“Feed my lambs.
16 He said to him a second time, “Simon, son of
John, do you love me?” He said to him, “Yes, Lord; you know that I love
you.” He said to him, “Tend my sheep.
“Do you love me?”

I read this scripture with a narrative, and I began to question it. Not the content but my love, my love for my savior.
The Scriptures here shows that Jesus asked Peter a few times if he loved him.
So I did some digging.

Honestly my first reaction reading this was wow; here is Jesus telling he will be the one , the chosen one to lead his ministry. He will shepherd, us his sheep.

See http://www.gotquestions.org/Jesus-Peter-do-you-love-me.html

There is a narrative here describing when Jesus asked the questions and explains why. (See link above)

Here is the condensed “spark/ Cliff notes” version. (I think I just dated myself with that spark/ Cliff notes comment).
Jesus was eating after his resurrection with his disciples.
He wanted to encourage Peter about his responsibilities for the establishing the church.

He even prophesied how Peter would die.
So he asked 3 times. “Do you love me?”.
The whole notion of this was that it was important for Peter’s love to be declared, He wanted his obedience, which was necessary for the future of his ministry.
He asked him 3 times. The same amount of times Peter Publicly denied him when he was going to be crucified.

Jesus questioned Peter about his love, each time Peter answered he did love him.
So why ask about feeding the sheep?
What did Jesus mean by that?
Jesus was a shepherd, he was our shepherd as well.
The sheep he is referring to is us, the followers the believers of Christ.
So there Jesus gave Peter the authority to Lead his Church.

Peter was Chosen.
Peter was called to lead this ministry.
He was to be a shepherded of the those whom follow in the way of Christ.
Regardless of the reason why Jesus asked the question three times, we know that Jesus was letting him know that his new role would be important .

Think of it this way. When we are learning a new job position, a new trade, a new Assignment a new responsibility in life. It takes repetitive steps and guidance to get the gist of the task before you.
So as the narrator states “When someone repeats instructions to us over and over, we quickly understand that it’s extremely important for us to heed them.
Jesus wanted to make sure Peter understood this vital charge He was tasking him with and the ultimate reason for it, to follow Him and glorify God (John 21:19).”
After doing my “digging” and reading the entire narrative from the author. A lot of things made sense.

Remember nothing is done without a reason.
There is no such thing as coincidence.
This was all in his timing for his reason.
His will, will be done.
All in God’s timing.
EVERYTHING HAS A PURPOSE.
EVERYONE HAS A PURPOSE FOR GOD.

Father God I thank you for another day, another moment to study and grow and learn about you. Thank you for this narrative. Thank you for the love you have giving me. thank you for your compassion. Thank you for entrusting peter to lead your ministry and tend to your flock of sheep. Father I would be lost without you. I love you with all my might. I am grateful for the opportunity to have salvation because of the sacrifice you did for me. AMEN

Leave a Reply

