Left to Chance

So I began to read a book which made me reassess my life and relationships.

Left to Chance
by Amy Sue Nathan

Before I start my review here is a synopsis from goodreads.com where I won this book in a giveaway.

The website synopsis:

From the author of The Good Neighborand The Glass Wives comes an enchanting story of returning home and discovering what truly matters after loss.

No one knows why Teddi Lerner left her hometown, but everyone knows why she’s back.

Twelve-year-old Shayna— talented, persistent, and adorable—persuaded "Aunt Tee" to return to Chance, Ohio, to photograph her father’s wedding. Even though it's been six years since Shay's mother, Celia, died, Teddi can hardly bear the thought of her best friend's husband marrying someone else. But Teddi’s bond with Shay is stronger than the hurt.

Teddi knows it’s time to face the consequences of her hasty retreat from family, friends, and, her old flame, but when she looks through her viewfinder, nothing in her small town looks the same. That’s when she truly sees the hurt she's caused and—maybe—how to fix it.

After the man she once loved accuses Teddi of forgetting Celia, Teddi finally admits why she ran away, and the guilt she’s carried with her. As Teddi relinquishes the distance that kept her safe, she’ll discover surprising truths about the people she left behind, and herself. And she'll finally see what she overlooked all along.

I cried, I laughed and I truly enjoyed reading this book. I can relate to Teddi and why she ran away, why she stood away. Sometimes when we loose people we love, we close up ourselves, we isolate ourselves in our grief, thinking we cannot function with out our departed loved ones…. whether or not they passed away or decided to travel across the country for a new life.

I was able to channel the emotions Teddi under went. I was able to relate to her struggles, her fears, her anxieties and her being around people she has not been around in years. I connected to the character on a deeper personal level, having somewhat been there myself.

I enjoyed this book.
I cried with this book.
I laughed with this book.
I sighed with this book.
I was happy with this book.

Eloquently written, easy read, easy to follow.

I recommend everyone read this.

This book also allowed me to take a step back and reflect on my relationships.
I keep thinking about how much things have changed.
In general.
How much time has passed.
How much I've changed.
How much my friends have changed.
How I went back to being the person I once was, without the same people who were originally there when I was that person.
How different it all feels.
Then I thought if anything happened to my "best friends" I wouldn't ever know.
Their significant others wouldn't tell me because I have no friendship with them.
Not by choice, distance.
They wouldn't even know I existed to contact.

I face my struggles and my challenges alone.
How are my "best friends" dealing with there's?
Teddi' longed for her phone conversations with her deceased Celia, the way I long for talks my friends.
Teddis life was drastically changed when her friend left her life, as was mine when my friends left mine to a start a new elsewhere.

Social media allows for some sort of contact with your loved ones, but it is so impersonal. Nothing like a phone call, nothing like a hey text, nothing like one on one face to face interaction if possible.

We've all moved on with our lives. We all have new friends, some even have new best friends, new things that matter. I am not the same person you once knew, you are not the same person I remembered.

Life is about growth. Some people are meant to be with you at given points in your walk, and then they branch off.
Some people are meant to walk the distance with you and be by your side.
If you love someone's, do not abandon them regardless of the circumstance.

What a nice lesson and reflection from this amazing book. Everyone is mourning, everyone too needs help in their journey. I mourn losses daily. We all wonder about the what ifs.

This book comes out on November 2017. Pre order it. It's going to be a good read and a great way to self reflect your existing and past relationships.

Leave a Reply

