An Excellent Wife

An excellent wife who can find? She is far more precious than jewels.
The heart of her husband trusts in her, and he will have no lack of gain.
She does him good, and not harm, all the days of her life.
Proverbs 31:10 – 12 ESV
I keep finding myself writing about this proverbial woman.
As a wife I struggle, I know my imperfections in my role.
I look at this proverbial woman and sometimes I struggle to comprehend How she could be seemed as the dutiful, perfect woman in the eyes of the author.
I also look and see her strength and where I would love to be like her.
I sit and ponder does my spouse see me the way this author see’s this idealistic woman?
Am I far more precious than jewels to my spouse?
Does he trust me?
Does he love me?
Does he feel that I treat him good?
Does he see me as his excellent wife?
It is hard juggling the role as working mom/wife and nonworking mom/wife.
It is hard balancing household responsibilities and chores.
I recently wrote about the Proverbial woman in my post entitled “The Beloved Proverbial Women.”
I wrote:
“Proverbs 31 describes what many consider the perfect dutiful women.
Sometimes we as women try to aspire to be this symbol of perfection and do as much as we can to fit the description. Sometimes we as modern women try to aspire to be everything this proverbial woman is not.”
I still struggle with this concept of being the perfect wife.
I don’t think I’ll ever compare to being this proverbial woman.
I don’t think I’d ever be viewed as the jewel of my husbands eyes.
I don’t think I’d ever be viewed as his proverbial woman.
Every time I get sent to read this proverbs so many things arise up in my mind. Many of them highlighting my flaws.
I am flawed, I am weak, it’s through my weakness I find strength in the lord. I pray I could be more like this proverbial woman in the eyes of my spouse. I know in the eyes of the lord he loves as for who I am. He has shown his love, affection and has blessed me.
As I mentioned in my previous post on this proverbial woman, “We do not have to fully aspire to be her, nor aspire not to be her.
We can learn from her, and apply whatever attribute one see’s fit for ones life.”
I am trying to still learn from you so that some of your attributes can fit in my life. So that I may be a better wife.
Father God I thank you today for my loving family. For helping me manage my responsibilities as a wife and mother as well as daughter. Father I know I am not perfect, my imperfections are evident. Despite my own imperfections, despite my own modern beliefs, I see some of her in me. I ask you lord to help me be my own version of this proverb woman as you deem fit. May all that I do be for yoru Glory. May all that I do for my family, be for your glory. May all that I do for my community be all for your Glory. I will submit myself to you and my rolse as wife, to become my families own Proverbial woman in your Glory.
Amen.
Leave a Reply

